CSEB Research Webinar on January 16, 2022: Using iNaturalist to document biodiversity patterns in BC Parks

The biodiversity database and social media platform, iNaturalist has revolutionized community science by making it easy and fun for anyone to contribute to biodiversity data collection. There is a need for a platform such as iNaturalist in British Columbia where the species diversity is greater than anywhere else in Canada, but the area is so vast that it cannot be adequately inventoried using traditional data collections methods alone. To fill in these gaps in our knowledge and provide opportunities for young adults to hone their natural history skills, Dr. Brian Starzomski (UVic) and Dr. John Reynolds (SFU) teamed up with BC Parks and the BC Parks Foundation to create the BC Parks iNaturalist Project.

This webinar begins at 7pm Pacific/ 9pm Central/ 11pm Atlantic Time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *